The last time I had French crepes


FrenchCrepes

The year 2008, cold February evening, marveling at the architectural wonder, Eiffel tower…holding on to the jacket tightly, enjoying the pattering rain…pulling the right hand out of the warm glove I had the sizzling hot…just off the pan French crepe…savoring the bite of crepe, licking the chocolate off my lips….

A naïve Indian girl on her first trip outside her homeland, wondering at everything, learning every moment, mesmerized…exploring new things, dream filled eyes. ..struggling with the French language and the accent.

Now….the year 2013…it is raining heavily…drove from a farm, made a sudden decision to stop by at the village inn…Over a cup of coffee…French crepes with strawberries and cream ….sitting by the window, watching the rain…having a bit of the crepe…….wondering at how much it has all changed…..Life, the world…ME….A transformed me…

The incredible journey…This is a like a pause….I reflect back on that moment when in front of the Eiffel tower having French crepes….assuming everything and everyone is good…I had a smile playing on my lips…. 🙂

Now I smile at all those events that transpired over the last few years that brought in change, huge waves of changes…a lot of them. The assumptions that were proved wrong, the perceived realities that turned in to illusions, new found definitions of words, new meanings of beliefs and notions, myths that busted, concepts that crumbled, thoughts and behavior that humbled…hopes and dreams that tumbled…

Negative people who came in to my little world and left,people who shattered my dreams, people who filled me with hope and courage, people who made me stronger, friends who were there for me through ups and downs, trials and tribulations…the glorious moments of joy and fun filled days, unstoppable tears filled with despair and gloomy days and nights of nightmares..
Another bite of French crepe…..brings me back to the present moment. The delicacy, aroma, softness, fluffiness, reveling at the elegance of the moment I smile. I close my eyes with gratitude ..to be able to remember the last time I had French crepes and smile. Yes, the smile has not changed….and never will. 🙂

🙂 Vimala Paran

5 thoughts on “The last time I had French crepes

  1. Amazing how much one grows wiser over a period of five years. The negative people/experiences only make us stronger I suppose.

  2. I don’t think I’ve had a decent crepe ever in my life, mostly because I’m not a dessert person. But right now, the thought of strawberries, cream and chocolate with some hot coffee by the rain looking at the Eiffel tower sounds so blissful to me.

    What took you all the way to Paris?

  3. This current blog is like turbulent weather during your journey of life….like ups and down, Humps and smooth roads but remember one line behind every turbulent weather there wud be soft trail of journey where you need to cherish….No Pt in thinking about the turbulent weather since it is learnt how to sail thru it….but let me tell you…The moments you have hot chocolate creep….would feel disappointed that rather thinking about crepe its taking your thoughts else where…

Leave a Reply

